This Feeling

Friday, September 22, 2017

Track Of The Day :: La BĂȘte Blooms - Saw You On The TV

Words: Sam Geary

New from Hull four-piece La BĂȘte Blooms after June's 'Lost and Found', they snap back today with the release of 'Saw You On The TV' via The Adult Teeth Recording Company.

On a cheery lyrical note of "a world on the brink of disaster", the post-punks haul out their fuzz pedals, synth-like guitars and lo-fi bass as vocalist Daniel Mawer growls his way through a list of the trivialities of modern life, splashing just under three minutes of impending doom with wry Northern wit as he wonders if there's an app that can be downloaded to prevent the world ending.

Great stuff.

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Manchester's Neighbourhood Festival announce more names to the 100+ event

Words: Ellie Ward

Taking place in various Manchester venues on Saturday October 7, Neighbourhood Festival has announced a fresh raft of acts taking part in this year's event.

Amongst the new names added are Idles, The Xcerts, Cassia, Francobollo, Dan Stock, Deva, Heavy Rapids, Judas, Man and the Echo, Queen Zee & The Sassontones, Sheafs, Touts, Vistas and more.

They join the previously announced likes of Peace, Ratboy, Peace, The Big Moon, Cabbage, Billie Marten, The Blinders, The Orielles, Black Honey, Jaws, Superfood, The Amazons, The View, Estrons, INHEAVEN, Marsicans, Sea Girls, The Vryll Society, No Hot Ashes, Ten Tonnes, Fazerdaze, Get Inuit, Party Hardly, RedFaces, Yungblud and a host of others.

With some ‘very special guests’ still to be announced next week, tickets - at just a bargain £30 - are going fast to see over 100 artists. For tickets and further details, click here.

Track Of The Day :: RedFaces - Take It Or Leave It

Words: Izzy B

Released last Friday (September 15 through Sony/RCA), ‘Take It Or Leave It’ is the new single from Sheffield's RedFaces.

After I introduced the young teen band here late last year, the four have graced festival stages and upped their fanbase numbers.

‘Take It Or Leave It’ - lyrically about trying to convince someone/yourself that you don't have to live your life the way others tell you but to forge your own path - sees tousle haired, baby-faced Harry Lyon lending the indie vocal as the band hone their tight lines and driving rhythms.

Catch RedFaces Live:

21 Broadcast, Glasgow
22 KU Bar, Stockton On Tees
23 The Chapel, Leeds
27 Seabright Arms, London
30 The Gate (Hoyfest), Cardiff

01 The Joker, Brighton
02 The Underground, Plymouth
03 The Horn, St Albans
05 Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham
06 The Lincoln Imp, Scunthorpe
07 Neighbourhood Festival, Manchester
08 Crofters Rights, Bristol
09 O2 Academy 3, Leicester
10 The Craufurd Arms, Milton Keynes
11 The Cellar, Oxford
12 The Frog And Fiddle, Cheltenham
14 The Plug, Sheffield

Watch :: Otherkin share live session track 'React' ahead of debut album and tour

Words: Sam Geary

Dublin pop punks Otherkin share their new video, a live session filmed at D-Light for 'React', which is taken from their upcoming debut album 'OK', out on September 29.

Otherkin will also be heading out on the road shortly to tour the album, both as special guests of INHEAVEN and their own headline shows (scroll down for dates).


30 Think Tank, Newcastle*

01 King Tuts, Glasgow *
02 Brudenell Social, Leeds *
04 The Plug, Sheffield*
05 Sugarmill, Stoke-On-Trent *
06 Buyers Club, Liverpool *
09 Mama Roux’s, Birmingham*
22 Deaf Institute, Manchester
23 Crofters Rights, Bristol
24 Clwb Ifor Bach, Cardiff
25 Face Bar, Reading
26 Camden Assembly, London
28 Forum Basement, Tunbridge Wells
29 Hope & Ruin, Brighton

* Supporting INHEAVEN

[Video] King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard (w/The Mild High Club) - Countdown

Animated and directed by long-term collaborator Jason Galea, King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard & The Mild High Club have unveiled the video to 'Countdown', a track taken from their forthcoming album, 'Sketches of Brunswick East', which sees a physical release on October 13.

The record is a collaboration between King Gizzard and Mild High Club, the Los Angeles based tripster troupe signed to Stones Throw Records and led by Alex Brettin – the two bands formed a strong friendship touring together throughout the USA, Europe, and Australia - and was recorded at the band’s own Flightless HQ in East Brunswick, Melbourne Australia earlier this year and mixed at Stones Throw studios in LA.

Gengahr mark return with new track and London show

Credit: Mahaneela

Words: Ellie Ward

Yes, after dropping hints earlier this week, North London's Indies Gengahr mark their return with a banger of a new track in ‘Carrion’.

Produced by Neil Comber (Glass Animals, Songhoy Blues) ‘Carrion’ is the first new material from the four-piece since their 2015 debut album ‘A Dream Outside’ and is available now on Transgressive Records.

Discussing the song, Gengahr’s Felix Bushe said: "'Carrion' is one of the hardest hitting tracks we have written, both musically and lyrically... The track is full of snark and bitterness, but also offers hope and triumph over the oppressive nature of the world we live in today. Born in part out of frustration, the song crashes on, an embodiment of the resilience we've found essential in getting to where we find ourselves now."

In addition, Gengahr have announced a one-off live date at London's Omeara on October 13.